My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

FVP-5000T EPG losing programme information

(16 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    davidrew

    senior member
    Joined: Feb '13
    Posts: 55

    offline

    An update to my previous post with actual screen examples.

    One show this mornings EPG with some missing information. The other two are for Keeping Faith tonight at 9pm to 10pm. The program has been scheduled so it must have been in the EPG at some point but as you can see the EPG is now blank.

    Hopefully it will update in time or we will be watching on iPlayer.

    Attachments

    1. IMG_1447.jpg (82.3 KB, 6 downloads) 1 week old
    2. IMG_1446.jpg (62.6 KB, 6 downloads) 1 week old
    3. IMG_1445.jpg (93.9 KB, 9 downloads) 1 week old
    Thu 9 Aug 2018 8:36:02 #11 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    FrankLeigh

    junior member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 5

    offline

    If the advice here <https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/fvp-5000t-no-programme-information-on-epg> is correct, and I assume it is, then the FVP-5000T updates the EPG daily with information from the TV transmitter and stores it as a cached version for use until the next update.

    My unit receives all the information from the transmitter, it just doesn't retain it. It loses most of it after a while and then rebuilds the EPG, and this is repeated over and over again every day. I don't see how that can be blamed on the Crystal Palace transmitter.

    The only thing I can think of is that the unit, after working ok for 3 months, developed a fault a month ago which remains unfixable by any advice to date from Humax Support. They've replied to my last email, telling me yet again to do a Factory Default reset. I already told them I'd done that more than once and it didn't work, even after reducing the signal strength with an attenuator.

    I've emailed back to say I think the unit is faulty and asking them to confirm that this appears to be so. I shall then take it up with Humax Direct, who sold it to me, under the terms of the warranty. But on form to date, Humax Support will send me an email suggesting a reset to Factory Default.

    Thu 9 Aug 2018 23:42:07 #12 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    JohnH77

    special member
    Joined: Dec '15
    Posts: 341

    offline

    FrankLeigh - 44 minutes ago  » 
    If the advice here <https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/fvp-5000t-no-programme-information-on-epg> is correct, and I assume it is, then the FVP-5000T updates the EPG daily

    I think you are misreading or misunderstanding the thread.

    The EPG data is transmitted continuously and the EPG on the Humax is continuously being updated as long as the Humax is not in standby.

    I am guessing but I expect that if something is missing from the transmitted data, the original entry in the Humax EPG gets deleted, and replaced with No programme data, as the original in the EPG is different from what is being transmitted. Gaps in the EPG could be (probably are?) caused by gaps in the transmitted data. Once the correct data is transmitted the EPG quickly picks it up.

    I think the Freeview standard requires that an EPG should be populated within a certain short time - minutes. The Humax should populate the entire EPG in 5 minutes or so.

    The thread then says that the Humax EPG cache is cleared each night. So, if the Humax is left in standby, and the cache is cleared while in standby, the EPG will then be empty and any scheduled recording will be lost. This is the reason for scheduling the Humax to come on for 15 minutes each day - it is more than enough time for the entire EPG to be populated.

    It is presumably easy to see this - just put the Humax into standby with no recordings overnight. Look at the EPG when you bring it out of standby in the morning.

    Similarly it is the reason why the Humax comes out of standby 15 minutes before the scheduled start time of a recording - it allows the box to catch the START signal when the program starts. I do not know what happens if a recording actually starts 20 minutes early - presumably if the Humax is in standby it will not record it.

    Fri 10 Aug 2018 0:39:53 #13 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    FrankLeigh

    junior member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 5

    offline

    Thank you, JohnH77. Your post is the first I've seen that has gone into this detail, and as a learner I'm grateful to you. I assumed that once the EPG was cached it couldn't be de-cached. I didn't know that it was updated continuously.

    I've had a very quick reply from Support asking me to complete the warranty form which they attached and to return it with proof of purchase, so they can arrange for a replacement unit to be sent by courier, who will also collect the old one. So, I've done that. I'll be interested to see how the new machine performs, because if it's an EPG transmission problem I don't see how a new unit will be any different. But it's their call - I assume they know what they're doing...

    Fri 10 Aug 2018 16:09:33 #14 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 140

    offline

    I have this niggle occasionally and have realised it only happens if I have retired to bed leaving the box tuned to a channel other than the main 5. Switching to BBC1HD for a few moments very quickly repopulates the epg.

    Fri 10 Aug 2018 16:39:25 #15 |
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 9,364

    offline

    SSThing - 23 minutes ago  » 
    I have this niggle occasionally and have realised it only happens if I have retired to bed leaving the box tuned to a channel other than the main 5. Switching to BBC1HD for a few moments very quickly repopulates the epg.

    Set a daily power on timer for 15 mins at say 07:00-07:15 on BBC1-HD with your normal volume setting. I don't think this will help if you later tune to a MUX with incomplete epg data.

    Fri 10 Aug 2018 17:04:44 #16 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.