My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » Aura UHD

Humax Aura Sound Setting

(24 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 543

    offline

    No, the OP says his Marantz doesn't support DD+ and the instructions show that it does.

    That's why I said to activate all the options on the Humax and then use the options from pg98/99 of the Marantz instructions.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 13:08:17 #11 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,429

    offline

    SSThing - 15 mins ago  » 
    No, the OP says his Marantz doesn't support DD+ and the instructions show that it does.
    That's why I said to activate all the options on the Humax and then use the options from pg98/99 of the Marantz instructions.

    I was assuming the OP knew what he was talking about.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 13:25:22 #12 |
  3. Trev

    Trev

    special member
    Joined: Apr '18
    Posts: 506

    offline

    You should know by now that is a particularly bad assumption to make graham.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 15:59:22 #13 |
  4. Blackforce

    Blackforce

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Mmmmmm? I actually did say in my first post that the 5.1 program was The Big Bang Theory on CH4HD

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 20:28:09 #14 |
  5. Blackforce

    Blackforce

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 10

    offline

    And as to the Humax FVP-5000T working with my Marantz NR1508.
    I never experienced any sound problems.
    If I was watching say ITVHD the Marantz would automatically go to my preferred DSP mode Dolby -Prologic II
    If I switched to CH4HD to watch The Big Bang Theory. The Marantz would automatically switch to Dolby Digital 5.1

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 20:42:27 #15 |
  6. Blackforce

    Blackforce

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Thanks SSThing for your advice. I will give that a go tomorrow.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 20:45:15 #16 |
  7. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 12,429

    offline

    Blackforce - 11 mins ago  » 
    Mmmmmm? I actually did say in my first post that the 5.1 program was The Big Bang Theory on CH4HD

    CH4-HD does not afaik use DD+. If I remember correctly it's incorrectly identified as 5.1. Problem is there is no data on the surround channels and the LFE is just down to the crossover frequency set in the AVR setup
    .

    I have loaded content in to video editor software that can edit 5.1 and display each of the 6 channels as a waveform. Recorded on a Foxsat-HDR that can record the entire data stream without encryption. First used it to identify problems with Father Brown 5.1. Long since fixed.

    There is no audio data in the the rear channels or the LFE channel. Guessing that is the problem.

    Try recording Battlestar Galactica which is bog standard DD 5.1 suuround.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 20:55:25 #17 |
  8. Blackforce

    Blackforce

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Ok I will give that a go and let you know.
    Thanks

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 21:06:10 #18 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 543

    offline

    https://www.demolandia.net/cinema/dolby-demo-trailers-hd/page-8.html

    This site has various test files that you can download and play to test your setup.

    | Fri 20 Nov 2020 21:56:42 #19 |
  10. Blackforce

    Blackforce

    new member
    Joined: Nov '20
    Posts: 10

    offline

    Well I have tried everything now. resetting my Marantz, resetting the Aura, recording Big Bang Theory on CH4HD, Match of the Day on BBC1HD (Saturday night) The Bridge BBC4HD, Battle Star Galactica BBC2HD.
    All come through in 5.1
    But any other programs transmitted with a stereo (PCM) sound format. Come through the Marantz as stereo (PCM) Unless I switch the Aura sound setting from surround to stereo. Then the Marantz will switch automatically to Dolby Pro-Logic II as I prefer.
    So I will have to wait to see if Humax start sending some software updates in the future.
    But thank you to everyone who has offered advice.
    If there are any developments in the future I will update this thread.

    | Mon 23 Nov 2020 7:55:00 #20 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.