Remote Control « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » FVP 4000T, FVP 5000T

Remote Control

(36 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Jennit64

    new member
    Joined: Jul '18
    Posts: 1

    offline

    I had the same problem - have 3 Humax boxes, 2 of which I have had no problems with the remotes. The 3rd is an Fvp-4000t and I have had problems with the home buttons from the get go.

    I finally contacted Humax to ask where I could source another remote and this is the response I got -

    Thank you for contacting Humax.

    You can change the frequency of the remote control to make the units work independently. Please note that Youview models cannot have their frequency changed.

    To do this,
    Turn off any other Humax at the mains
    On your remote, press and hold "0" and "OK" for roughly 8 -10 seconds
    You will get a message on screen asking to press a number between 1 - 6
    Press a number such as 3. The message will say remote now set to number 3 and disappear.
    This will prevent your Humax units from conflicting. If the message says ''remote code change failed'' please retry the above instructions.

    Best Regards

    I tried this last night - and what a change. The buttons that before would not respond or would only respond if I repeatedly pressed them, worked on the first press. I am still slightly skeptical that it was such an easy fix, but have never had any point at which the remote did not cause problems. Last night was the first time everything worked well and responded at the first light press of the buttons.

    Will keep you updated once I have had the next few days with it.

    Wed 11 Jul 2018 20:16:01 #31 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    thegenegenie

    member
    Joined: Apr '17
    Posts: 19

    offline

    Just tried this on my 4000t, changed to 3 and what a difference, no more pressing button three or four times before getting a response, it actually works like a proper grown up remote, why are we only hearing about this now?

    Thu 12 Jul 2018 10:52:43 #32 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    RoverT

    member
    Joined: Mar '18
    Posts: 14

    offline

    thegenegenie - 6 hours ago  » 
    Just tried this on my 4000t, changed to 3 and what a difference, no more pressing button three or four times before getting a response, it actually works like a proper grown up remote, why are we only hearing about this now?

    Works for me too.

    Thu 12 Jul 2018 17:10:10 #33 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Marius

    senior member
    Joined: Nov '17
    Posts: 61

    offline

    Is this supposed to improve the 5000T remotes performance too?

    Thu 12 Jul 2018 19:56:27 #34 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Harters

    senior member
    Joined: Mar '17
    Posts: 99

    offline

    Didn't make a blind bit of difference to mine (4000).

    Fri 13 Jul 2018 6:55:40 #35 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    JohnH77

    special member
    Joined: Dec '15
    Posts: 366

    offline

    I haven't opened my Humax remote control but I repaired my (obsolete and no longer available) burglar alarm keypad when the keys became intermittent.

    In the alarm keypad the plastic keys are meant to be conducting and they short circuit some contacts on the PCB. They were no longer conducting properly and it required a lot of force to get them to work.

    I bought some sticky backed aluminium foil from eBay for a trivial sum - I got enough to do thousands of controls. I cut small circles using a hole punch (but cutting with scissors would have worked fine). After opening the keypad I stuck the aluminium foil onto the keys.

    Bingo! I transformed the keypad.

    That was three or four years ago and it is still working perfectly.

    Tue 4 Dec 2018 18:07:14 #36 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.