My Humax Forum » Freeview HD » Aura UHD

Dolby Atmos/Dolby Digital plus - how to get?

(77 posts)
  1. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    Just a thought.
    Have you looked at the Android settings (not the Humax Aura settings, which are overlayed and specifically designed for operating the Aura)?
    At the operating system level of Android there are usually options for HDMI output. Mine has Auto, LPCM and Raw. Raw sends the audio signal directly without any processing, so that whatever device it goes into can do the work.

    If you don't already have access to the OS settings, there are numerous apps available that make this access possible.

    | Tue 19 Oct 2021 10:47:25 #11 |
  2. User has not uploaded an avatar

    boogersa

    special member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 246

    offline

    I don’t want to delve into the guts of the aura to that level. But thanks for helping. I think I’ll just have to live with it and alter the audio as required.

    | Tue 19 Oct 2021 11:36:52 #12 |
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    Have you tried toggling the ms12 decoder?

    | Thu 21 Oct 2021 19:54:01 #13 |
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

    boogersa

    special member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 246

    offline

    SSThing - 31 mins ago  » 
    Have you tried toggling the ms12 decoder?

    Yep. Without going into lengthy details…it doesn’t help overall. Still have the same issue which I need to switch audit settings to resolve depending on the source I’m watching.

    | Thu 21 Oct 2021 20:28:30 #14 |
  5. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    Have you checked the TV audio/hdmi settings to see if there is anything that is adding some kind of cross processing to the Aura audio before it is sent down the arc?

    | Thu 21 Oct 2021 21:32:52 #15 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    boogersa

    special member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 246

    offline

    SSThing - 11 hours ago  » 
    Have you checked the TV audio/hdmi settings to see if there is anything that is adding some kind of cross processing to the Aura audio before it is sent down the arc?

    Yep. There’s no “outside agency” impacting this. I may raise a support call with Humax…but it is just a niggly issue.

    | Fri 22 Oct 2021 8:43:49 #16 |
  7. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    You may probably get more useful advice by talking to Sonos.

    | Fri 22 Oct 2021 11:38:45 #17 |
  8. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    I am guessing that you have a recent model TV.
    As a test, have you tried playing any of the various Dolby "test" videos on YouTube, directly from the TV YouTube app (so excluding the Aura) just to see how the Sonos reacts?

    | Fri 22 Oct 2021 14:47:12 #18 |
  9. User has not uploaded an avatar

    SSThing

    special member
    Joined: Nov '15
    Posts: 1,199

    offline

    It might also be worth trying the same test files through the YouTube app on the Aura. If they all play correctly (without having to change anything) that will be a definite indication that the "video player" utilised by the Freeview operation either has a routing issue or possibly the codecs aren't configured correctly.

    | Fri 22 Oct 2021 15:55:47 #19 |
  10. User has not uploaded an avatar

    boogersa

    special member
    Joined: Jan '18
    Posts: 246

    offline

    YouTube Dolby atmos demos only output 2.0. They don’t demo atmos. I have read that from Dolby themselves you can download demos to a usb stick and play them from the stick.

    | Fri 22 Oct 2021 18:08:19 #20 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.