Missed quite a few recordings recently. « My Humax Forum

My Humax Forum » Freesat HD » FOXSAT HDR

Missed quite a few recordings recently.

(55 posts)
  1. Hogweed

    Hogweed

    senior member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 53

    offline

    Thanks for all that, Graham, but it's all getting to be too much of a pain now. I think I'll just catch anything I've missed on iPlayer, and hope they fix it before too long...

    Mon 25 Feb 2019 17:05:15 #41 |
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,127

    offline

    The Lunchtime Bargain Hunt is recording twice on BBC1 - HD England and and on BBC1- HD Scotland (same episode).

    Wed 27 Feb 2019 13:04:23 #42 |
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,127

    offline

    grahamlthompson - 22 hours ago  » 
    The Lunchtime Bargain Hunt is recording twice on BBC1 - HD England and and on BBC1- HD Scotland (same episode).

    Wanted Down Under Re-visited is now doing the same.

    Thu 28 Feb 2019 11:06:04 #43 |
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,127

    offline

    I have reported above to the BBC

    Thu 28 Feb 2019 11:23:00 #44 |
  5. Hogweed

    Hogweed

    senior member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 53

    offline

    grahamlthompson - 2 minutes ago  » 
    I have reported above to the BBC

    I'm sure they're REALLY listening

    Mine still misses the beginnings of some recordings as well as the ends - can't be bothered to keep monitoring which ones etc any more I'm afraid. The series recording problem seems to have been resolved though... till the next time...

    Thu 28 Feb 2019 11:26:39 #45 |
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

    Ted

    member
    Joined: Apr '16
    Posts: 14

    offline

    It's kind of comforting that I am not the only one having these problems, and not the only one to have tried all possible solutions regarding the Foxsat (including a new HDD, after previous problems with that part). There seems to be nothing left but to wait until the broadcasters better their lives. But one thing seems to make a difference: from standby, recordings fail, but when switched on, they seem to start (and when I then go to standby, they continue). Could this lead to some clue?

    Tue 19 Mar 2019 9:27:02 #46 |
  7. Hogweed

    Hogweed

    senior member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 53

    offline

    Ted - 45 minutes ago  » Could this lead to some clue?

    Hhmmm, don't know... seems odd though, as I've noticed that my Freeview box missed a lot of programmes during the time when this was at its recent worst.

    Interestingly, its red light would start to flash as usual a couple of minutes before the programme was about to start - but just carry on that way, rather than progress to solid red, and begin recording.

    When I checked afterwards, it had an error message about "No Timing Signal" or something like that.

    Tue 19 Mar 2019 10:15:32 #47 |
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,127

    offline

    Hogweed - 1 minute ago  » 

    Ted - 45 minutes ago  » Could this lead to some clue?

    Hhmmm, don't know... seems odd though, as I've noticed that my Freeview box missed a lot of programmes during the time when this was at its recent worst.
    Interestingly, its red light would start to flash as usual a couple of minutes before the programme was about to start - but just carry on that way, rather than progress to solid red, and begin recording.
    When I checked afterwards, it had an error message about "No Timing Signal" or something like that.

    One of the problems with the current BBC debacle in addition to the major screw up with the recording crid codes is the timing of the Accurate recording codes which indicate to the box when one programme is completed and the next starts, These are used to correct the start and end of recordings where the transmission deviates from the scheduled times. This affects Freeview and Freesat.

    One recent recording of mine started the scheduled recording 10 mins after the last programme ended and thus lost 10 mins from the one I want.

    This process has worked reliably for years,

    From reading other posts it seems that the BBC decided in their wisdom to relieve Red Bee of the contract and do it themselves.

    Clearly they do not know what they are doing.

    Perhaps if we all complain to Ofcom they might be forced to finally sort out the mess.

    Along other problems is multiple recordings being created on Freesat on BBC1-HD England and BBC1-HD Scotland and or BBC1-HD England and BBC1-HD Wales.

    Using up two tuners is causing failures on other broadcasters content who are not at fault at all.

    Recent relevant threads

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/recording-conflict-hdr1100s

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/missing-start-of-some-recordings

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/double-recording-on-bbc

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/current-bbc-recording-debacle

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/recording-2-seperate-bbc-hd-channels-at-same-time

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/set-up-recordings-beeb-1-oddities

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/bbc-one-news-accurate-recording-problems

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/hdr-1100s-3

    https://myhumax.org/forum/topic/recordings-failing-part-way-into-programme

    Tue 19 Mar 2019 10:26:45 #48 |
  9. Hogweed

    Hogweed

    senior member
    Joined: Apr '15
    Posts: 53

    offline

    Funny thing… my daughter will graduate in Broadcasting Journalism this year, and he BBC would normally be a good place to look for an internship. However, as luck would have it, I was walking up a local mountain recently, when I found a lost production crew who I guided up, and got talking to them – they said avoid the Beeb, as they’re in such a state at the moment struggling to fit in with modern times that you really wouldn't want to work there.

    She applied anyway and, despite being the top student in her entire year, and easily securing interviews with other broadcasters, got turned down flat by Auntie Beeb.

    Presumably her “profile” didn’t quite fit.

    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6792471/BBCs-20k-year-trainee-journalist-BAME-lower-social-economic-background.html

    Tue 19 Mar 2019 10:35:00 #49 |
  10. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson

    special member
    Joined: Feb '11
    Posts: 10,127

    offline

    Hogweed - 3 weeks ago  » 

    REPASSAC - 1 minute ago  » 
    If padding in minutes is set then it will overrise accurate record totally. Padding will cause conflicts in some situations. I never use it as, except with the current BBC problems, AR generally works very well.

    Hate to disagree when you presumably know what you're talking about, and I certainly don't... but over the last few days, I set padding of 2 minutes at both start and end, and it still lost the end of a couple of recordings.

    Padding doesn't help if the actual programme starts more than 2 mins late (assuming +/minus 2 mins set) padding disables Accurate recording. It takes the scheduled times and effectively creates a manual recording with start and end adjusted by the padding correction.

    You can though set a manual recording with start time and end time set at whatever time you want and set a repeat pattern.

    Eg using a Foxsat-HDR schedule a recording in the usual way.

    Example

    With Foxsat-HDR on and no padding set (start/end set to Auto)

    Press Schedule and then Red to instantly display the cached epg

    Locate a programme - I chose Doctors BBC1-HD 13:45

    OK on HD option

    OK on Record Whole Series

    Press schedule to return to Schedule

    Locate Programme - (Doctors in my case) Press Yellow (edit)

    Fill in the table

    I used Start Time 13:35, End Time 14:20, Repeat Weekday, Mode Record

    Tue 19 Mar 2019 12:13:15 #50 |

RSS feed for this topic

Reply »

You must log in to post.